Comfort Inn & Suites
5716 S. Van Dorn St.
Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone: (703) 922-9200
Fax: (703) 922-0132
5716 S. Van Dorn St., Alexandria, VA, US, 22310
- Phone: (703) 922-9200
- Fax: (703) 922-0132
A craft brewery that produces an exciting line of quality, locally crafted ales for the DC and mid-Atlantic markets. The brewery's tasting room serves a sample of their new and seasonal beers and is open Wednesday through Sunday for growler refills. Tours are offered Friday through Sunday.
Operated by the Fairfax County Park Authority, this 27 acre park contains demonstration gardens, boardwalks, a horticultural center, a library, a greenhouse, meeting rooms, a 1760 Manor House, native plant trails, scenic woods, and ponds. Tours, programs, lectures and demonstrations are offered for adults and children.
Fort Ward was a crucial part of the wide defensive system built around Washington during the Civil War. The fort stands in the swath of territory that Union troops captured from Virginia shortly after the state joined the Confederacy. Today, visitors can wander the gardens in the 40-acre park surrounding the fort, picnic and enjoy summer concerts in the amphitheater. Fort Ward itself has been almost fully restored. The museum contains much to interest children and Civil War buffs, from musical instruments to medical equipment.
The Huntley Meadows Nature Center in the Hybla Valley of Virginia, is a wetland park. Established since 1975, the park is home to a variety of wildlife, especially birds. Visitors can make use of observation decks to spot wildlife or walk along designated trails. Various creeks run through the vast expanse of the park and one can find beaver dams built across them at many places. The visitor center provides more information about the flora and fauna residing in the park.
Many amenities and recreational activities await you at this 493 acre park which includes a 77 acre lake for boating and fishing, hiking and nature trails, a miniature golf course, a carousel, snack bar, tourboat rides, picnic areas, pedal boat and canoe rentals, and a children's playground.
Founded in 1862, the Alexandria National Cemetery is one of the many cemeteries that were built in 1862. The Cemetery served as a burial ground for all the Union soldiers who died in the hospitals during the Civil War era. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.
Formed in 1988, Alexandria Presbyterian Church was the vision of a group of people who were determined to establish a Presbyterian Church of America in the heart of Alexandria. While still relatively young, this congregation has already established traditions that promote fellowship within the church and the community. Among these are an Easter Sunrise service, Thanksgiving service and softball teams.
A quaint, scenic marina that offers a wide range of services including wet and dry storage, a launching ramp, moorings, and rack storage. The Mariner Sailing School, the largest sailing school in the Washington, D.C., area is also on site and it offers a full range of sailing and windsurfing lessons, as well as boat rentals.
Contrabands and Freedmen Cemetery is located in Alexandria, Virginia. In 1987, the city of Alexandria started the preservation process of the cemetery to build a memorial park. The site got added to the National Register of Historic Places on August 15, 2012.
Children and other fans of firefighters and their equipment will enjoy visiting Alexandria's oldest firehouse, built in 1871. The Friendship Fire Company itself pre-dates the building by 100 years and is rumored to have been a pet project of George Washington's. Restored in the 1990s, the Firehouse offers visitors a look at the equipment used since the nation's founding. Also displayed are the clothes firefighters wore throughout this company's history. Special exhibits are often held.
History buffs interested in the dwellings of an ordinary man in the 18th Century will be thrilled to visit the Ball Sellers House. Possibly the oldest standing building in Arlington today, the house was the home of a yeoman farmer John Ball, who lived in this modest dwellings with his wife and five daughters. The house has passed through several owners since including William Carlin, a tailor who counts George Washington and George Mason among his famous clientele. Packed with history and interesting stories, visitors will also get the rare opportunity to view a clapboard roof. The house is open for public tours from April to October on Saturdays between 1:00p and 4:00p. School and group tours can be set up by appointment.
A gracious Georgian style manor house which is surrounded by 175 year old boxwood gardens and was once part of a 2,000 acre plantation owned by George Mason. The house was also once the home of George Mason's third son, Thomson Mason, who lived there until his death in 1820.