Comfort Inn Pentagon City
2480 South Glebe Rd. Bldg. 2
Arlington, VA 22206
Phone: (703) 682-5500
Fax: (703) 682-5505
Arts & Museums
Nestled within the 1891 Hume School, the oldest school building in Arlington County, this museum houses the artifacts of Arlington's past with exhibits deeded to the Society over the years by a number of private donors. A bookshop is also on the property which offers local historical publications, maps, prints, and cards.
The Hume School is a historic structure that is an Arlington County Landmark and is also on the National Register of Historic Places since 1979. The former school holds the record for being one of the oldest school building in the county of Arlington. The building was designed by B. Stanley Simmons in Queen Anne inspired architecture. Now owned and looked after by the Arlington Historical Society, the house is used as a local history museum.
See the work of local artists and artisans showcased at Del Ray Artisans. Get a sense of local culture by viewing local art in a variety of mediums. Approximately once a month, there are new exhibits, and you'll find a great deal of diversity in the pieces being shown. The gallery is open to the public and admission is free.
Filled with artwork ranging from sculpture, jewellery and painting to ceramics and drawings, the Gallery Underground is a premier venue that showcases local talent. It has monthly-rotating exhibitions and the featured items can be bought by interested patrons. The gallery is worth a visit for its varied exhibits that are interesting and intriguing.
Arlington House once belonged to Confederate General Robert E. Lee, whose wife, Mary Custis, a great-granddaughter of George Washington, inherited the home. During the Civil War, Union troops made the house their headquarters. The home is furnished as it was when the Lees raised their seven children here. Park rangers dressed in period costume help dramatize the era. Enjoy a stunning view of Washington from the front of the hillside mansion. As the mansion is located within Arlington National Cemetery, visitors must either walk from the Visitor Center or join the Tourmobile Sightseeing tour of the cemetery.
History buffs interested in the dwellings of an ordinary man in the 18th Century will be thrilled to visit the Ball Sellers House. Possibly the oldest standing building in Arlington today, the house was the home of a yeoman farmer John Ball, who lived in this modest dwellings with his wife and five daughters. The house has passed through several owners since including William Carlin, a tailor who counts George Washington and George Mason among his famous clientele. Packed with history and interesting stories, visitors will also get the rare opportunity to view a clapboard roof. The house is open for public tours from April to October on Saturdays between 1:00p and 4:00p. School and group tours can be set up by appointment.
Founded in 1976 and is housed in the historic Maury School, this arts center is dedicated to presenting and supporting the new work of regional artists through exhibitions, studio space, and educational opportunities. The center is one of the largest venues for emerging, contemporary artists in the greater Washington, D.C. area.
Metropolitan Gallery exhibits contemporary American realism and representational works from mid-career and emerging artists. The exhibit calendar includes both individual artist and group shows.
This museum tracks the history of African-Americans in the Alexandria community from 1749 to the present. The small town, near the North-South line, is a fascinating microcosm of the larger trends that impacted the black community in the US. Literature and exhibits celebrate the contributions made by African-Americans to Alexandria. Regularly hosting lectures, exhibitions and special events, the museum is an interesting place to discover while in Alexandria.
Formerly the Franklin and Armfield Office, the Freedom House was one of busiest slave trading center. Later is was used as a prison and a hospital; this building also featured in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
Children and other fans of firefighters and their equipment will enjoy visiting Alexandria's oldest firehouse, built in 1871. The Friendship Fire Company itself pre-dates the building by 100 years and is rumored to have been a pet project of George Washington's. Restored in the 1990s, the Firehouse offers visitors a look at the equipment used since the nation's founding. Also displayed are the clothes firefighters wore throughout this company's history. Special exhibits are often held.
This Greek-Revival building was built in 1839 as the intellectual and cultural center for the city of Alexandria. The first floor held a library, with the second floor containing a lecture hall. The Civil War brought these activities to an end and the building became a hospital. It then served as a home and an office building and was saved from demolition by the city in 1974, soon becoming Alexandria's History Museum. The history and culture of this city and surrounding area provide the focus for a permanent display of memorabilia, changing exhibits and special events.