595 Tracy Trail
Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone: (815) 444-0040
Fax: (815) 444-6911
595 Tracy Trail, Crystal Lake, IL, US, 60014
- Phone: (815) 444-0040
- Fax: (815) 444-6911
Arts & Museums
The Volo Auto Museum was founded in 1960, and as the name suggests it is dedicated to cars. From Hollywood to vintage, the entire range is on display at this museum. The unique thing about the museum is that it also dabbles in car dealership.
The Challenger Learning Center is an interactive learning center that enhances mathematics, science and technology education as participants work together to accomplish a mission. A circular orientation room with a "Galaxy" dome ceiling, a replica of NASA's Johnson Space Center Mission Control room, a transport corridor with an airlock, International Space Station simulator, and interactive exhibt area all add to the experience. School-based missions, public programs, summer camps, birthday missions, family missions, and corporate missions are offered.
The Old Court House Arts Center is a consignment gallery showing contemporary artists from Illinois and Wisconsin. There are five large gallery rooms used for rotating exhibits, as well as full time artists whose works show in both the shop and the main galleries. A variety of media is shown including: jewelry, wearable and useable art (such as purses and scarves) ceramics, paintings (in all media), sculptures, dolls, drawings and mixed media pieces.
Visit the Chester Gould-Dick Tracy Museum, where the work, achievements and the life of Chester Gould (1900-1985), creator of the "Dick Tracy" comic strip and character are displayed, promoted and honored. The museum also preserves the legacy of Dick Tracy and the heritage of the comic strip. The museum features Chester Gould's original artwork, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, and drawing board and chair. The "Crimestopper Club Room," is filled with child-friendly hands-on exhibits including forensics, identification measures and drawing techniques.
Jailhouse Potters gallery is housed in in the lower level of the Sheriff's House. You can still see some of the old cell structures in the shop, from when criminals were held there, around the turn of the century. The shop displays the work of local potters, whose techniques and designs provide a variety of pieces to choose from. Jailhouse Potters also features alternatively fired (i.e. Raku or Pit fired) pieces. Pottery classes are also offered.
The Lake County Discovery Museum in Wauconda offers a blend of knowledge and information on history, art and popular culture. Established in 1976, it welcomes nearly 45,000 visitors per year. A distinctive feature of the museum is that it explains the history of Lake County in a simple and enjoyable atmosphere. There are enthralling special exhibits organised occasionally to depict the heritage of the region.
85,000 square feet of fun and education.
The Elgin region of Illinois is bequeathed with a fine historic site in the form of the distinct Elgin Public Museum of Natural History and Anthropology in Lords Park. It is a small natural history museum which was actively constructed in 1907. It was initially called the Lord Memorial Museum and was opened as the Elgin Audubon Museum in 1920. It swanks of being the oldest museum building in Illinois as such. It is inclusive of an array of exhibits like the Mazon Creek fossils, Native American lifeways, endangered species as well as Ice Age mammals. A visit to this museum is worth it.
The original 1856 Elgin Academy.
A 1,200 seat theater and 11,300 square foot exhibition hall.
The region of Elgin in Illinois is home to the historic Fire Barn 5 which was the fifth official fire barn in Elgin. It initially housed horses along with a fire fighting carriage. It successfully functioned as a fire station till 1991. It is also touted to be one of the finer examples of the Classic Revival style of architecture. At present, it operates as a museum depicting fire fighting history. Shut down on almost all major holidays, the museum can be visited on Saturdays and Sundays from noon to 4:00p. The charges for touring are minimal with USD2 for adults and USD1 for children. Also, toddlers below five years of age can visit for free.
This Second Empire styled building was built in 1873 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1979. The George Clayson House was the residential home of a local carpenter and orchardist of the same name. Spread across 10 acres (4.04 hectares), it was bought by the Palatine Public Library and is maintained by the Palatine Park District. Today it is a public museum and library focusing on local history. A gem for history lovers, it features countless heirlooms and relics from Palatine’s past.