1569 Jim Johnson Rd
Fayetteville, NC 28312
Phone: (910) 321-1460
Fax: (910) 321-1465
1569 Jim Johnson Rd, Fayetteville, NC, US, 28312
- Phone: (910) 321-1460
- Fax: (910) 321-1465
A wide variety of recreational opportunities are available at this beautiful park that features an 18 hole Frisbee golf course, tennis courts, horseshoe pits, children's play areas, picnic areas, nature trails, a sand volleyball court, and football, soccer, and softball fields.
Cape Fear Botanical Garden is spread over an area of 77 acres (31 hectares). It is fully-administered by a non-profit organization. The garden is open to public all days of the week and charges a minimum fee for admission. Opened in 1989 as part of a college extension project program, it is a must visit when in town. It helps to conserve and protect countless species of herbs and plants, some of which endangered as well. The garden is also visited by many rare insects and butterflies which are found nowhere else in the world.
The Ann and Bow Streets in Fayetteville, North Carolina are bequeathed with a lavish spiritual avenue in the form of the First Presbyterian Church. The monumental church was constructed in 1816, and even today it welcomes all with open arms. The church site has also featured on the distinguished National Register of Historic Places.
A fun and creative hands-on, interactive museum that allows children to explore the world around them through creative role playing and interaction. Exhibits on site include a grocery store, a bank, and a newsroom.
The First Baptist Church, located on Old Street in Fayetteville, North Carolina is a historically-significant church in the region. It was constructed in 1906 and is a fine example of the Romanesque and Romanesque Revival styles of architecture. It welcomes all to their weekly prayer services and worship. The Sunday School is organized at 9:45a followed by the worship service at 11:00a.
Spread across a sprawling area of 80,000 square feet (7432 square meters), this is one of the various locations of Cumberland County Public Library. Opened in 1986, this library is a treasure trove of important books, documents, novels, journals, videos, sound bytes, periodicals and other vast collection. This modern library features various meeting rooms, computer labs, Local & State History Room, Foreign Language Center, and several other facilities. For more details, check website or call ahead.
Open every other Saturday, this station is a rare example of Dutch Colonial architecture with the outside passenger and freight platform dating back to World War I. The Amtrak passenger station is now housed here, as well as the Atlantic Coast Line Depot Railroad Historical Center.
The Edgar Allan Poe House is an eminent structure in Fayetteville in North Carolina. The monumental building was constructed in 1896, and occupies historic importance. The house is named after the famed politician and trader Edgar Allan Poe and is a constituent of the Museum of the Cape Fear Complex. The house was included in the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.
The second largest regional park in the city, this gem was designed, and remains, a natural wooded area and features three trails that wind through the park and along the Cape Fear River. A nature center is on site that showcases live reptiles and amphibians and certified park rangers educate visitors at the center.
A private zoological park and natural habitat that offers tours of its extensive grounds that are the home of numerous buffalos, llamas, deer, elk, cows, sheep, ducks, swans, and peacocks.
The Camp Ground Methodist Church was built in 1860. It is an example of Greek Revival style of architecture and features on the National Register of Historic Places. It organizes weekly worship and prayer services for the community.
The celebrated Falcon Tabernacle is an octagon-shaped Pentecostal Holiness Church structure, and is also referred to as the Little Tabernacle or the Octagon Tabernacle. This historic building is located in Falcon, North Carolina and was constructed in 1898. A rare fact indicates that the church was predominantly built using trees that had been uprooted by a tornado. The use of eight-sided tents in ancient religious revivals is represented by the architecture of the building. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on October 11, 1983.