Comfort Inn Hoffman Estates - Schaumburg
2075 Barrington Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60169
Phone: (847) 884-6400
Fax: (847) 882-9145
2075 Barrington Road, Hoffman Estates, IL, US, 60169
- Phone: (847) 884-6400
- Fax: (847) 882-9145
Arts & Museums
This unique Native American art gallery, operated by the American Indian Center of Chicago, showcases modern American Indian culture for suburban residents. It will feature contemporary Native art, post 1960s. Also offered are film screenings, ceremonial dance exhibits, featured speakers, panel discussions, school tours and educator workshops.
85,000 square feet of fun and education.
The Elgin region of Illinois is bequeathed with a fine historic site in the form of the distinct Elgin Public Museum of Natural History and Anthropology in Lords Park. It is a small natural history museum which was actively constructed in 1907. It was initially called the Lord Memorial Museum and was opened as the Elgin Audubon Museum in 1920. It swanks of being the oldest museum building in Illinois as such. It is inclusive of an array of exhibits like the Mazon Creek fossils, Native American lifeways, endangered species as well as Ice Age mammals. A visit to this museum is worth it.
This Second Empire styled building was built in 1873 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1979. The George Clayson House was the residential home of a local carpenter and orchardist of the same name. Spread across 10 acres (4.04 hectares), it was bought by the Palatine Public Library and is maintained by the Palatine Park District. Today it is a public museum and library focusing on local history. A gem for history lovers, it features countless heirlooms and relics from Palatine’s past.
The region of Elgin in Illinois is home to the historic Fire Barn 5 which was the fifth official fire barn in Elgin. It initially housed horses along with a fire fighting carriage. It successfully functioned as a fire station till 1991. It is also touted to be one of the finer examples of the Classic Revival style of architecture. At present, it operates as a museum depicting fire fighting history. Shut down on almost all major holidays, the museum can be visited on Saturdays and Sundays from noon to 4:00p. The charges for touring are minimal with USD2 for adults and USD1 for children. Also, toddlers below five years of age can visit for free.
The original 1856 Elgin Academy.
A 1,200 seat theater and 11,300 square foot exhibition hall.
The past is, ironically, an essential part of a community’s present and future. It tells us how a particular community has sustained itself against trying times, and how it has flourished in times of prosperity. Thus, it is important to preserve this history, and the Arlington Heights Historical Society has done just that at the community’s Historical Museum. Comprising five buildings – Muller House, Log Cabin, Coach House, Banta House, and the Soda Pop Factory Building – this museum holds artifacts and documents detailing the past of Arlington Heights. Tours are available at specific timings, so do see the website to plan your visit.
Fox River Trolley Museum is a museum that is dedicated to the American Electric railroad. It's collection comprises rail trolleys, locomotives and items pertaining to railroad industry. The museum also conducts rides that takes you through scenic and lovely routes.For fares, event updates and other details, please check website.
Talented duo Jay Turner and Dennis Quijano have taken their designing instincts and artistic streak back to the suburbs where their roots lie. Their Paper Crown Gallery is a culmination of their passions and entrepreneurial spirit. It has formed a network of local up-and-coming artists that showcase their work making fine art more accessible and affordable. It organizes numerous art classes, photography sessions and graphic designing workshops. Don't miss their BYOB Art and Spirits event, which is a fun night of creativity and fine wine.
Offering programs, exhibits, and displays that cover a variety of topics and historical subject matter from specifics about Buffalo Grove people and places to a general overview of life in the past.
Established in 1846 by the Stacy family, their home functioned as a wayside inn, offering shelter to commuters between Galena and Chicago. The stay at Stacy's Tavern offered guests a comfortable bed, satisfying meals and feed for the horses. With the introduction of the railroad, the Stacy abode, ceased to function as an inn. The property was purchased by the Village of Glen Ellyn in 1968, and along with the historical society, restored this beautiful Greek Revival Architecture and opened it as the Stacy’s Tavern Museum.