1500 John Harden Dr.
Jacksonville, AR 72076
Phone: (501) 985-4400
Fax: (501) 985-4819
1500 John Harden Dr., Jacksonville, AR, US, 72076
- Phone: (501) 985-4400
- Fax: (501) 985-4819
This site, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was the location of a Civil War battle on August 27, 1863, for the Union Army to capture Little Rock.
Camp Nelson Confederate Cemetery was a military camp used for training of soldiers. In the year 1862, an epidemic broke out in the camp and killed 1500 soldiers. The camp is name after the then Brigadier General Allison Nelson, also among those affected by the epidemic. This cemetery is the final resting place of these soldiers and in order to respect them, a memorial was erected at the spot. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
1917, and the closing days of World War I, when it was known as Camp Pike. It is one of the largest state operated training sites in the US. It is headquarters for the Arkansas National Guard and open year round for training.
This spacious, green park is just across the street from the historic Old Mill. Play frisbee or volleyball, have a picnic or throw bread to the ducks in the pond. Note the unusual sculptures scattered throughout the park, which include a hollow tree-trunk shelter and a flower-basket planter. The sculptures were created around 1933 by Mexican artist Dionicio Rodriquez, who also created the "wooden" bridge at Old Mill, which is just across the street.
Old Mill has been called the most picturesque spot in North Little Rock. The actual mill, which operated in the 1800s, provided the background for the opening scenes of 'Gone With the Wind'. Today, visitors can explore the inside of the mill or sit on the surrounding mushroom-shaped benches and watch the waterwheel churn. In the spring and early summer, flowers decorate the banks of the pond. You can take in the scenery while enjoying lunch at one of the numerous picnic tables in the surrounding TR Pugh Memorial Park.
Grist mill on the first floor dates to 1828 and the mill rocks show dates of 1823 and 1840.
Built by Charles R Thompson, it has 80 rooms, the interior features black veined marble floors, oak woodwork and a chapel with arched stained glass windows.
Concrete and steel with walls of stucco over brick, the exterior shows an international influence with its flat roof and casement windows.
One of the most modern of the pre WWII era in North Little Rock, this Monterey style structure has the appearance of a two story home bu actually consists of three stories with a patio opening off the basement.
One of the largest municipal parks in the country with 1,575 acres. Burns Park features a log cabin which was built prior to the Civil War and used as a store; a covered bridge; handicapped accessible fishing pier; camping area; 36 hole golf course; disc and miniature golf; baseball; softball; soccer; tennis; hiking trails; amusement park and more.
Offers classes lectures, book clubs, internet access, a genealogical section, meeting rooms and a children's library.
Visit this historical depot, built in the Spanish Colonial/Mediterranean style.