Comfort Inn Near Ft. Meade
8828 Washington Boulevard
Jessup, MD 20794
Phone: (410) 880-3133
Fax: (410) 880-4058
The railroad bridge in Maryland is the only one left in the nation that was built in the revolutionary design in the history of American bridge engineering. It is a 160-foot (49-meter) long double-span truss bridge. Currently, it is used in the Savage Mill Trail. It was the first bridge built out of all metal to be used on railroad. It is named after its inventor, Wendel Bollman, a self-educated engineer from Baltimore.
Visit historic old town's Main Street with its antique and gift shops and restaurants; anchored by the Train Station and the Laurel Museum.
Situated on a knoll overlooking the Patuxent River on 15 acres, this two and a half-story late Georgian-style brick plantation house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. With four rooms on each floor, Snow Hill Manor features Federal-style trim, wood floors and period-style furnishings. This historic property may be rented by the public for meetings, receptions, weddings and other functions.
Enjoy photographs, periodicals, documents, maps, and memorabilia of Columbia's history. Call for futher information and hours.
A National Historic Landmark situated on 70 acres, the Georgian-style Montpelier Mansion operates as a house museum and a rental facility. The property contains a rare surviving 18th century summer house and the Little Teapot Gift Shop. Some of the Mansion's rooms are furnished as they would have appeared from the end of the 18th century until 1830. Montpelier Mansion is available for weddings, receptions, luncheons, and meetings.
Federalist mansion in Howard County, perfect for receptions, meetings, and special events.
Explore wildlife habitats, endangered species, animal lifecycles and more. The center features outdoor trails and habitats.
This park offers miniature golf, batting cages, playground area, two large picnic pavilions, a snack bar, summer camp, and video games.
1837 girls' school built on land donated by the Ellicott brothers, now is on stabilized ruins. The building is the focal point for a park for lovers of historical interpretations, archaeology, concerts, plays and other fine activities.
Don S. S. Goodloe House was used as a residence for school children of African-American origin. It was built in 1915 in a Colonial Revival style of architecture. It is currently named the Goodloe Alumnihouse at Bowie State University. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 13, 1988.
The University of Maryland Baltimore County is more commonly known as UMBC. It specializes in the natural sciences and engineering, also offering a significant piece of the pie to the liberal arts. The University is supposedly among the top three Ph.D-granting universities in the United States in the production of IT degrees at the undergraduate, master's and doctoral levels. Also home to the Meyerhoff Scholarship Program, which is a program focused on the cultivation of underrepresented minority scholarship and awareness in the math, science and engineering disciplines.
Bowie City, a small railroad stop of yesteryear, was originally christened Huntington City. The station, which was the focus of the town, was named after Governor Oden Bowie. Presently a museum, this venue houses an interesting collection of edifices. You will find restored railroad buildings like the waiting shed for passengers, the interlocking tower, the freight building, and the Norfolk and Western caboose from the '20s. Get a glimpse of railroad history in a unique setting.