Comfort Hotel Komatsu
Phone: (81) 761 20 1111
Fax: (81) 761 20 1122
Situated just below Mt. Noda, where it has been located since 1697 is this Eiheiji branch temple which was established by Lord Iehisa Togashi in 1261 near Nono-ichi. In 1283 it became a Soto sect temple. It provides a good opportunity for those sincerely interested in religious meditation (zazen) to participate in the services. Visitors may tour both the huge kitchen and the meditation hall.
A temple and fort rolled into one, the Myoryu-ji Temple is a must on your itinerary when in the city. It was originally built for Lord Maeda Toshiie as a prayer place, but many transformations later it became a fort like structure and has served the city in various ways.
In the midst of a commercial city center is the pretty Uhoin temple. Born in Kanazawa in 1889, Saisei Muro, the novelist-poet, was adopted by the priest and grew up here. He helped to rebuild the temple which was devastated by a flood in 1922. Some of his personal effects are displayed. Do not overlook the stone marker on the grounds which was put in place during a famine in 1827. The inscription tells us that the temple would provide refuge for hungry or neglected children.
The Nomura Samurai House will give visitors the opportunity to witness the Japanese way of life in the Edo period. The site is so named as it served as the residential home of the Nomura family. The interiors are dominated by rosewood artifacts.
When Buddhist monks controlled the region, this was the site of their "military temple." Destroyed by a huge fire in 1881, the castle was nestled between the Saikawa and Asano rivers. It is significant because the Maeda family occupied it for fourteen generations when it was the headquarters of the Kaga clan, beginning with the first ruler, Lord Toshiie Maeda, who started ruling in 1583. The vestiges of the castle that survive include the moat, the imposing stone walls and the Ishikawa Gate. Admission is free.
The largest of Japan's "top three" gardens, Kenroku-en Garden, the name refers to the six elements of a strolling garden: these include scenic charm, coolness, careful arrangement, solemnity and vastness. Formerly it was the garden of the outer residence of Kanazawa Castle. From 1673-1681, Lord Tsunanori Maeda had it laid out, but it was actually finished in the form we see today in 1837. It is distinctive for its two ponds, Kasumgaike and Hisagoike, waterfalls and three artificial hills. From the garden there are great views of the city, the Japan Sea and Mt. Io.
The local government designated the Higashi area as an entertainment quarter in 1820. Several of the buildings are now restaurants or inns, but because of preservation efforts one can get an idea of feudal times by strolling down the street. Notice the characteristic latticework on the facing of the old geisha houses. The Shima Geisha House's interior is open to the visitors. The two-story house includes a tearoom, private reception rooms and a courtyard garden.
Gokayama designated a UNESCO world heritage site under the Historic Villages of Shirakawa-go and Gokayama is a fascinating area that offers insights into the socio-economic and cultural life of the people in the region relatively untouched by modern times. Two villages of this beautiful region are especially worth a visit, Ainokura and Suganuma. Both villages are historic sites featuring a unique style of architecture unique to the region called gasshō-zukuri. Tucked amidst the steep mountains and valleys in a remote location, this style developed to combat the heavey snowfall of the region and its characteristic feature are steeply inclined thatched roofs built to slide off the heavy snow. Some of these historic houses date back more than 300 years.