4444 Dixie Hwy
Louisville, KY 40216
Phone: (502) 447-2096
Fax: (502) 447-2052
Frederick Law Olmstead not only designed the great New York parks, Central and Prospect, but he also created this gem in the Bluegrass State. Though its location may be outside of downtown Louisville, it's a veritable playground replete with locals taking advantage of the amenities when the weather allows. Some park features include the popular amphitheater, an archery range, basketball courts, disc golf course, fishing lake, miles of trails, horseshoes, picnic areas, playground, tennis courts, etc. Car access on the road to the top of the park is only open between the months of April to October, but bike and foot access is available throughout the year.
Examples of weaving from the past 200-years are displayed in these historic board-and-batten cabins. The Little Loomhouse is a Louisville Landmark and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Home to the famous Kentucky Derby, Churchill Downs represents the first leg of horse racing's Triple Crown (The Preakness and Belmont Stakes are the other two). Aside from witnessing the "Fastest Two Minutes in Sports" (that is if you can procure tickets to the race), it still a great place to visit outside of the first Saturday in May. The season runs from April to November and even if you can't make it to the Derby, you can still wear your favorite hat and order a Mint Julep.
Old Louisville just might be one of the grandest old neighborhoods in the South -- if not the world. Ancient mansions and ancient oaks line ancient boulevards and avenues, and they all lead to one place: Central Park. It's a square block shrouded in shade and filled with neighbors enjoying their sunny afternoons. Kids play in the fountain, adults hone their backhand on the tennis court. All enjoy the pathways and shaded picnic spots. During the summer months, an amphitheater draws crowds, and they're kept safe by the on-site branch of the Louisville PD.
The Gene Snyder U.S. Courthouse and Custom House, or the United States Post Office, Court House and Custom House is a historic government building situtated in Louisville, Kentucky. The building includes a post office, a custom house and a courthouse. The structure was constructed in 1932 in the Classical Revival style of architecture, with its limestone exteriors and elaborate pilasters. The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.
Louisville Free Public Library dates back to 1906, it was founded owing to the generous donations of Andrew Carnegie. The library building has featured in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1980. Check website for details.
The Brennan House is a Victorian mansion in downtown Louisville that is filled with an entirely original family collection. It is listed on the National Register and is a 501 (C)(3) non-profit organization open to the public.
The historic part of West Main Street runs from 2nd Street to 9th Street and it's one of the oldest streets in Louisville. It has been here since the inception of the city in 1788 and it's quite possibly one of the most visited areas in town. Here visitors will find the Frazier International History Museum, the Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, the Louisville Science Center and many other attractions. A walk between 6th and 9th Streets offers pedestrians architectural eye-candy with wonderful cast-iron facades on some buildings, reminiscent of those in New York City's Soho, the only difference is that parking is easier to find here.
The Pendennis Club stands as a monumental private club in the city of Louisville in the U.S. State of Kentucky. The site dates back to the year 1928, and this historical club still serves its members. For details about the membership and club services, check website or call ahead.
The Cathedral of the Assumption was founded in 1811 and gave rise to an infirmary and orphanage. One of the oldest United States cathedrals still in use, today the church continues to aid those in need. It is comprised of over 54 separate ministries, and sponsors community outreach programs - including feeding the hungry and caring for the homeless.
Locust Grove is a National Historic Landmark on 55 acres of the original 694 acre farm established by William and Lucy Clark Croghan in 1790. Locust Grove hosted three U.S. Presidents, Monroe, Jackson and Taylor, and was a stopping point for famed explorers Meriwether Lewis and William Clark upon their return from their expedition to the Pacific. In addition, Locust Grove was home to numerous enslaved African-Americans who lived and worked on the farm and contributed to its success. Locust Grove tells the story of George Rogers Clark, early Kentucky history, western expansion and everyday life on the frontier.
Formerly known as the Jefferson County Courthouse, the Louisville Metro Hall was a Gideon Shryyock architectural style structure. Featuring the bays on the facade with a huge entrance that leads one into the building is absolutely stunning. The metro hall is a place that serves as a great county place for Louiville. There are several events organised by the officials for the young kids, one of the very famous event was plantation of trees throughout Louisville and the same was a great success.