Comfort Hotel Andre Latin
50-52 Rue Gay Lussac
Phone: (33) 1 43547660
Fax: (33) 1 40517710
This 17th-century Catholic church is situated in the heart of Paris' lively Latin quarter. It was constructed in 1684 and features an unusual structural detail - rather than having two bell towers as the architect planned, Église St Jacques-du-Haut-Pas has only one, lending it an asymmetrical appeal. It features a magnificent organ dating from 1866, and occasionally hosts choral and classical concerts.
This magnificent Baroque structure is situated in the 5th arrondissement of Paris. It was constructed in the 17th Century and hosts an impressive collection of sculptures and paintings. Église du Val-de-Grace boasts an incredible organ and frequently hosts classical and choral concerts that showcase the church's excellent acoustics.
The Panthéon is a magnificent building that was built between 1764 and 1790, commissioned by King Louis XV and completed on the heels of the French Revolution. Not only is the building renowned for its Neoclassical architecture, but the Panthéon is also the resting place of famous individuals such as Victor Hugo, Voltaire and Marie Curie. The architecture is inspired by the Roman Pantheon, with the dome closely resembling the dome of the St. Paul's Cathedral in London. This is a must-visit for all visitors of Paris - not only for the grand history, but the sheer beauty of the Panthéon as well.
The Panthéon is a must on tourist itineraries to the City of Light. One of its highlights is Foucault's Pendulum. Physicist Léon Foucault proved the rotation of the Earth with an experiment using a giant bob swinging from the dome. A replica of this model, named after the revolutionary scientist, operates under the same theory since 1995, and is one of the most visited features of the building.
The facade and the nave of the church at the bottom of rue Mouffetard date from the late 15th Century. The choir and chapels were constructed over the next century, with the exception of the Chapel of the Virgin Mary, which was not added until 1784, when the architect Petit-Radel resumed work on the edifice. In 1868, many of the neighboring houses were destroyed, in an attempt to liberate the sanctuary from its encroaching surroundings. The church played an important role in local history. Like the surrounding neighborhood, it remained under control of the all-powerful Sainte Geneviève Abbey up until the French Revolution. It was the focal point for several disputes involving Protestants and Catholics. The first episode involved persecuted Jansenists who took refuge inside its walls. Several of them were later buried here. More importantly, the December 27, 1561, a riot erupted between the Catholics and the Protestants, who found themselves worshiping in one of only two Protestant temples authorized by Catherine de' Medici. A confrontation was inevitable, as only the street separated the temple from the Church. The church was sacked, the temple was set on fire, and numerous deaths resulted on both sides. Several months later, practice of the Protestant religion was made illegal and the War of Religions began.
One of the oldest streets in Paris, Rue Mouffetard boasts both a lively marketplace and vibrant nightlife. "La Mouffe" is slightly suffering because of its popularity with tourists, but still retains some of its original character. The southern end is lined by open-fronted fishmongers, butchers and wine merchants. The narrowness of the street intensifies the hustle and bustle of the marketplace atmosphere emanating from the stalls of the market sellers further down in Square St Médard. The northern end, around Place de la Contrescarpe, is also worth a visit and has some good bars, (L'Irlandais and Le Requin Chagrin), and cheap restaurants. -Greg Blackman. For further information on the same you can call on +33 8 3668 3112.
The ground on which the Jardin du Luxembourg and the Palais du Luxembourg stand was originally the site of a Roman camp. In 1257 the Chartreux religious order bought the land and built a monastery here and later princess regent Marie de Médicis had the palace built in 1615. This is one of Paris' favorite gardens. Very prettily laid out, it is popular with students and residents in the city's Latin Quarter. Children can go on pony rides, play on swings and sail their toy boats on the octagonal pond. This park is truly a much-loved and popular meeting place.
One of the most beautiful and historically significant churches in France, the L'église St Etienne du Mont is the final resting place of St Genevieve, Blaise Pascal, and Jean Racine. Its construction began in 1492 and wasn't completed until years later. Inside, you will find fine craftsmanship in the form of stone sculpture, wood carvings, and remarkable stained-glass designs. The architecture of the church is very extravagant, with large domed spaces lit by high windows, and long spiraling stone staircases. There are various panels inside that provide historical information.
It was decided in December 2010 that the former École Polytechnique’s garden would be opened to the public. This engineering school was founded by Napoleon at the end of the 19th Century. The Ministry of Higher Education and Research has settled in the buildings now and for security reasons as well as research worker efficiency, the garden will be open only on weekends and bank holidays. This à la française garden is 6085 square meters (65,500 square feet/1.5 acres). It is composed of trees, alleys, statues and a large square pool. It is the ideal place to relax after a walk in the Latin Quarter. For further information, you can contact +33 8 3668 3112.
Obtaining its name from L'abbaye de Port-Royal cloister which is housed within Hôpital Cochin here, Boulvard de Port-Royal is a beautiful tree lined area that provides warmth and shade on sunny days. Apart from the peachy atmosphere, it is the Royal Market that brings people to this popular boulevard. Call +33 8 3668 3112 for details.
Founded in 1257 by Robert de Sorbon, King Saint-Louis' Chaplain, la Sorbonne is famous around the world. At its humble beginning, 16 students of Theology studied there. Now thousands of students apply here every year to gain expertise in varied fields of study. The chapel is the oldest part of the university, which was re-established by Napoléon in 1806 after the French Revolution. Towards the end of 19th century, additions of the Grand Amphithéâtre, Palais Académique and Bibliothèque were added to the structure. There is no entry fee at the gates, however, there are paid guided tours interested groups.
This ancient Latin quarter church was constructed in 1733 in the Corinthian style. It was used by a variety of different faiths until the late 19th Century, when it became a center for Catholic social movements founded by Robert and Albert de Mun. The interior is classically embellished with an impressive collection of paintings, and Église Saint-Ephrem frequently features classical and choral concerts.