Comfort Hotel Gare de L'Est Paris 10
31, boulevard de Strasbourg
Paris, 75 010
Phone: (33) 1 47702500
Fax: (33) 1 47703217
31, boulevard de Strasbourg, Paris, FR, 75 010
- Phone: (33) 1 47702500
- Fax: (33) 1 47703217
The Passage du Prado is a passageway of 120 meters (394 feet) long and 4 meters (13 feet) wide, located in the 10th arrondissement of Paris. It started in 1785 under the name of Passage du Bois de Boulogne. It was covered in 1930 and got its current name in 1935, in reference to the Prado Museum in Madrid. The two sections of the passageway, covered with a glass roof, are right-angled and linked by a rotunda, which existed at the creation. The architectural style of the glass roof’s mounting is related to the 1925 Arts Décoratifs exhibition. Nowadays, there are Indian, Mauritius, and Pakistani restaurants, a tearoom, a pizzeria, an affordable record shop, and even a barber. Contact +33 8 3668 3112 for more information.
Le Manoir de Paris, located in the 10th arrondissement, presents an original concept that is unique in France: a theme park and museum in one. The public is taken on an interactive route through Parisian legends and mysteries, over a space of nearly 1000 square meters (about a quarter of an acre). The Phantom of the Opera, The Hunchback of Notre Dame as well as the Bloody Baker are among the stories told in this new kind of haunted house. With the help of sophisticated engineering and professional actors playing roles, the Manoir de Paris brings to life old stories and legends for all those thrill seekers out there. Naturally, this attraction is not recommended for children under 10.
Built in 1798 on the location of the former Filles-Dieu convent near the Cour des Miracles, Passage du Caire, in the Sentier district in Paris's 2nd arrondissement, is the oldest and the biggest pathway in the city. Its name comes from the passion for Egypt that developed after Napoleon's campaigns. This influence is obvious when you look at the façade decoration, decorated with three statues of the goddess Hathor. This pathway is composed of three galleries. The total length is 370 meters (1213 feet). It was first the place of printing houses and lithography. Nowadays, fashioning and accessories shops, which supply the Sentier district, occupy the pathway.
Built in 1822 according to plans created by the architect Thierry and after being authorized by Louis XVIII in 1819, the Synagogue Notre-Dame-de-Nazareth remains one of the largest synagogues in Europe today. The space for worship was split in two, one devoted to Ashkenazi and the other to Sephardic Judaism, until they were unified and the current configuration inaugurated in 1852. The inspiration for the architectural style was drawn from Moorish aesthetics and design features, among which 12 remarkable windows represent the 12 tribes of Israel. Organ or viola performances often animate the synagogue; visitors are always welcome.
This impressive church is situated in the 9th arrondissement of Paris. It was constructed in 1855 by architect Louis-Auguste Boileau in 13th-century Gothic style. The interior of the church features an abundance of light and color, with marvelous stained glass windows. Église Saint Eugène - Sainte Cécile occasionally hosts choral and classical concerts.
Stretching from the Square Frédérick Lemaître, near the Place de la République, to the Rue Lafayette and the charming pool of the Parc de la Villette, this canal enables boats to take a shortcut through the 10th arrondissement past a long loop of the Seine. Since its creation in 1825, the canal has been made famous by artists and film directors. It was notably featured in Jeunet's Amélie. Today, tourists in Paris love to walk along the banks to watch the barges float by and navigate the nine locks along the length of the canal. You could also grab a hot cuppa at the Hotel du Nord, and reminisce about the fascinating day spent along the canal.
This classic church is situated in the 3rd arrondissement of Paris. It features an impressive facade adorned with grooved, Doric, and ionic pillars, as well as statues dating from the second empire. The interior features a magnificent Romantic organ constructed by Suret in 1853. Paroisse Elisabeth frequently hosts choral concerts.
Stroll down this true Parisian pathway and experience the city as the locals would. With wonderful, little boutique and cafe lining its route, this Passage de l'Ancre is one of those well kept secrets of the city. Brightly colored shops selling a unique array of knick knacks and keeps only add to the charm of the place. A lovely walkway to discover on a summer day.
Who is Jean Sans Peur ("Fearless John")? He is the man responsible for the Hundred Years' War. His big mistake? Murdering Louis d'Orléans in 1407. Halfway up the tower where he used to live, you can find an enchanting vault encrusted with leafy greenery. The structure also houses the council of the duke of Burgundy. The vault of the large screw is one of the masterpieces of the French Gothic sculpture.
Located between the Bourse and the Opera districts, the Panoramas Passageway is the oldest covered passageway in Paris. It was built in 1799 on the location of the Hotel Montmorency-Luxembourg. The point of interest of this passageway was its two high towers located at the main entrance of the gallery, where panoramic paintings were exhibited. In 1807, the Variétés Theater settles in, where Offenbach had his fame in the 1830s. In 1831, both towers were demolished and reconstruction works started. The Passage des Panoramas is 133 meters (436 feet) long, composed of five galleries; nowadays it is the center of philatelic, or stamp-related trade.
An extension of passages Panoramas and Jouffroy, this covered walkway was constructed in 1847 and is named after, M. Verdeau. The delicate, neoclassical glass roof of the Passage Verdeau gives it an airy and charming feel. This lesser known aisle has a stretch of antique stores, rare bookshops and vintage dealers making it an interesting place to shop for souvenirs. There is also a more than century old photo shop that makes for an interesting visit.
Le Café des Chats offers a unique proposition of enjoying a friendly cup of tea in the company of cuddly cats. Home to 12 cats who keep on moving about the cafe, visitors are allowed to play with the felines and obtain therapeutic health benefits from them. Popular among cat enthusiasts, the cafe is a landmark in the city. All care is taken to ensure the hygiene standards of the place, with the cats having a separate living and breeding area.