Comfort Hotel Diana
San Marco-Calle Specchieri 449
Phone: (39) 041 5206911
Fax: (39) 041 5238763
San Marco-Calle Specchieri 449, Venice, IT, 30124
- Phone: (39) 041 5206911
- Fax: (39) 041 5238763
Built in the 9th century, this church has a 16th-century façade by Sansovino. On the portal there is the portrait of Tommaso Rangone, a benefactor of the church and the first ordinary man to be portrayed in a Venetian church. Due to the work of Sansovino and Alessandro Vittoria, its style today is late Renaissance. A window by Serlio adorns the front of the church, while inside there are numerous paintings by Palma il Giovane.
Built in 1076, Ateneo di San Basso is one of the oldest churches in Venice. Restored after the fires of 1105 and 1661, the church has been privately owned, used as a marble and sculpture camp by the Fabbriceria di San Marco and finally reconstructed and furnished as a conference hall during the 1950s. Today this historic landmark is used as a venue where visitors can listen to soulful music of Vivaldi and Mozart. Accomplished musical groups and maestro musicians and orchestras grace this venue, paying tribute to the legendary Baroque composers. The performances held here are worthy of a visit; especially after a tiring day in the city this can be a great place to unwind.
Historic landmarks come a dime a dozen in Venice, but Torre dell'Orologio (clock tower) is a bit more legendary than most. Centrally located at the entrance to one of the city's oldest marketplaces, the looming structure has stood watch over generations and generations of busy Venetians. By appointment only, visitors can enter the hulking monolith, ascend its stairways, climbing through the complex inner workings of the ancient clock, and taking in some astounding views of the neighborhood below. Check website for exact timings of the tours.
It is not known for certain who made the mid-14th-century Golden Altar Piece. It is a masterpiece of engraving that uses Byzantine ancient enamels, which originate from the pillage of Byzantium in 1204. The Treasure of San Marco should not be missed. A large part was melted down to mint money, but what remains can satisfy the curiosity of even the most demanding visitor, from an artistic and historic point of view. It can be accessed directly from the Basilica di San Marco.
On the road from Rialto to San Marco, behind Campo San Bartolomeo there is this church dedicated to the Fava family. The church itself is oval and houses Tiepolo's Education of Mary. Giorgio Massari designed the presbytery.
Started in the 9th Century, Basilica di San Marco's architecture shows an eastern and Byzantine influence: note the golden altarpiece and the 13th and 14th-century mosaics that illustrate the cycles of the Bible. The magnificent domes date from the 12th Century. The Basilica houses the Marciano Museum, which contains the original bronze horses, copies of which are now on the terrace. Other great artworks are located in the Pala d'Oro, along with masterpieces of Gothic gold-smithing, located just behind the altar. Basilica di San Marco-Campanile, the historical bell tower is also worth a visit.
Located in Castello, the San Lio Church occupies a good portion of Campo San Lio. The historic place of worship was built somewhere in the 9th Century as a church dedicated to Saint Catherine of Alexandria. It was in 1054 that it was consecrated again, this time dedicated to Saint Leone. Over the years and decades, this very church has been rebuilt and renovated several times; as of today, it sports the furnishings from its make-over in the 18th Century. The inside of the little, charming church is surprisingly plush and comprises of great artworks like the main altarpiece by Palma Vecchio, the fresco of St. James by Titian and the beautiful sculpture Four Evangelists by Pietro Lombardo, to name a few.
Piazza San Marco is arguably Venice's most famous piazza. What appears to be a rectangle is actually a trapezium, and when you look up at the basilica, the piazza seems enormous, although it is only 175 meters (574 feet) long. On both sides of the piazza are the Procuratie Vecchie, which housed the procurators of San Marco. The centerpiece of the piazza comprises of the iconic Basilica di San Marco. The oldest of these buildings (probably built by Codussi) lies on your left when you face the basilica; Baldassare Longhena built the ones on the right later in the 1640s. The most recent buildings, commissioned by Napoleon in 1810, are situated behind. Truly a marvel, Piazza San Marco makes for a brilliant visit.
You get a splendid view of Venice and the Basilica di San Marco from the tallest bell tower in Venice. It can be seen from the laguna and once you have reached the top, the whole laguna can be seen from above. Even though the Basilica di San Marco-Campanile was erected at the beginning of the 20th Century, it is an exact replica of the 15th-century bell tower. In 1609, Galileo Galilei exhibited his telescope here, and during the Carnevale, it was used to serve as a stage for the tight rope-walkers who entertained the doge with their acrobatics.
Arriving to the Palazzo delle Prigioni by the Bridge of Sighs, you will reach the famous prison where Casanova (1725-1798) was held captive in the middle of the 18th-century. The building was erected in the mid-16th Century to improve prisoner's comfort from the Institutional Chambers's housed prisons. In 1755, famous writer, traveler, adventurer, lover and seducer Casanova was arrested and thrown to that terrible prison, from which he escaped the following year, becoming in that act the legend of 18th-century Venice. Check website for more details.
The foundation of Fondazione Querini Stampalia was laid in the year 1869. It was made to order by Venetian Querini Stampalia family's last successor Conte Giovanni. The exteriors and interiors were made by the well known architect Carlo Scarpa. It holds paintings of famous artists and also exhibits contemporary art. For schedule and information on group tour visit website.
This church was rebuilt at the end of the 15th Century, in accordance with a plan by Codussi. It is believed to be one of the churches that were originally commissioned by the Bishop of Oderzo in the 7th Century.