Comfort Inn Tysons Corner
1587 Spring Hill Rd.
Vienna, VA 22182
Phone: (703) 448-8020
Fax: (703) 448-0343
1587 Spring Hill Rd., Vienna, VA, US, 22182
- Phone: (703) 448-8020
- Fax: (703) 448-0343
One of Fairfax County
Beautiful plants native to the Potomac River Valley and plants from around the world are displayed in magnificent areas at this botanical garden that also provides an array of educational opportunities in gardening, horticulture, botany, and conservation.
Surrounded by lush trees, the Colvin Run Mill is a 19th-century water power mill. You can picnic on its landscaped gardens and stroll through its historic general store for some snacks, drinks, candy, toys, books, grits and stone ground corn. The restored structure circa 1811 was considered to be a technological wonder of that time. This is one of those remarkable places where there are events such as live music, ice cream making, wood carving and craft sessions to make your trip all the more memorable. A tour to the mill will show you how the stones grind grain and hear stories of the history of this mill. A visit to Colvin Run Mill will not only fascinating but also vibrant with its various activities.
This 476 acre park includes an 18 acre lake for fishing and boating, an outdoor swimming pool enveloped by a lazy river, pedal boat rentals, a carousel, a seasonal campground open from March to December, nature trails, picnic areas, and a children's playground.
The Cherry Hill Farmhouse is a historic house located in Falls Church, Virginia. The beautiful Greek Revival style house was built in 1845 and was owned by rich farmers of the region. The Greek Revival style house is now the property of the city of Falls Church, which runs it as a museum. The site is open to the public for tours and there are special tours for children available, where they get to dress up in period costumes and play traditional games. The house and the farms adjoining it also make for a cozy wedding venue.
An easy walking path leads visitors from the parking lot through wheat and corn fields and an orchard to an 18th-century farm house. The house was typical of a poor Virginia tenant farmer in the 1770s. Volunteers work the farm and do other household chores while keeping in character in dress and speech. Children will especially enjoy the farm animals, which include cattle, turkeys, hogs, chickens, dogs and cats. Throughout the year, special events are held to demonstrate old methods of cheese making, flax processing and other ways of life.
Established first in 1733 as part of the official Church of England, the existing brick building was designed by James Wren in 1769. Much of the original construction still remains. During the Revolutionary War, Falls Church served as a recruiting headquarters for the Colonial army. Activities subsided then until 1830 when it closed altogether. It was reopened during the Civil War as a hospital and a stable, causing damage to the vestry that can still be seen today. In 1873, the church was officially reorganized as an Episcopal church, and the congregation remains very active.
Clara Barton spent the last years of her long, productive life at this Victorian home within walking distance of Glen Echo Park. Retired as head of the American Red Cross, she lived for nearly another decade in the house. Her creative renovations of the building resulted in a charming and intriguing curiosity. Visitors may view a film of the life of this tireless organizer and explore the home, which is furnished much as she left it. Admission is free.
This former amusement park changed its focus from thrilling rides to artistic amusements, many of which are directed at families. A beautiful hand-carved carousel is the only ride still operating in the park, now administered by the National Park Service. Visitors will find plenty of entertainment ranging from performances at the Puppet Company Playhouse to children's stories at the Adventure Theatre. Dances like swing, square-dancing and the waltz, among others, are held at the Spanish Ballroom.
Nestled in the Glen Echo Park, the Chautauqua Tower was built in 1892. This tower is the only extant reminder of the Chautauqua movement. Added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1980, this tower is transformed in to an art space and every month showcases the work of a new artist.
One of the busiest branches in the Fairfax County Public Library system, this library offers a collection of more than 215,000 volumes, a large selection of recorded books, an environmental collection, business and financial resources, access to the Internet, a separate children's wings, and a large collection of newspapers and magazines.
A wealth of recreational activities can be explored at this park in Arlington, just a few miles from Washington. Visitors enjoy the scenic walking trail, the outdoor swimming pool open Memorial Day through Labor Day, and the deluxe miniature golf course and batting cages, both open mid-March through October. Need a break from the activities? Stop by the snack bar and relax at the gazebo by the pond.